Sunday, June 7, 2009

The Hangover-A must-watch comedy flick!!

One of the most hilarious movies that I have seen in the recent past is The Hangover.The story is about three groomsmen Phil,Stu and Alan who go to LV(Las Vegas) for a bachelor party before their friend Doug gets married.Alan is Doug’s fiancĂ©e’s brother who is a kind of a nerd but very intelligent though.Phil is a school teacher married with 2 kids,sort of bored with life and wants to let loose in life and looking forward to having a ball in this bachelor party.Stu is a dentist who is very loyal to his GF of 3 years who is very controlling and that makes Stu tell lies about his plans of going to LV.But somehow these guys make it to LV with Doug.


After reaching LV,they book a suite for themselves at the famous Casesers' palace and sneak on to the roof to make a toast to their much-needed getaway only to find themselves in big trouble next morning.


They wake up with no memory of previous night,a missing Doug,Stu missing a tooth ,a tiger in the bathroom and a baby in the closet.They have no idea as to what happened the previous night.Now they need to find their friend Doug who was going to get married soon they go back home.After finding his cellphone in the hotel room they understand that something is wrong and they start looking for him.As they come out of the hotel looking for Doug they are given a cop’s car by the hotel valet which they had stolen being drugged.Now they see the hospital bracelet on Phil’s wrist that make them go to the hospital only to find that they had “roofies” in their blood when they had gone to hospital last night after a marriage they attended.At the chapel,they now find out that Stu had got married last night to Jade.On the way to her house they are attacked by some Chinese gangsters.But they manage to escape and find Jade to only come to know that she is a hooker and the baby is her’s.Stu freaks out there and can not believe that the ring he had bought to give to his girlfriend is now in Jade’s finger.I got to tell this is funny.This Stu is really funny through out the movie.His frustrated look as they go through different situations make the whole thing look very funny and to top it there is Alan’s wrong/awkward questions at wrong times.Before they could get out of her house police bust into the house in order to arrest three guys for stealing their car previous night.In order to avoid being in jail and to be able to look for Doug before its too late they work out a deal with the cops that they would volunteer for taser demonstration.After a lot of assault in front of kids in the form of being the species for the taser demonstration they come out with their car and don’t delay any more and start looking for Doug.They hear some noise from the trunk and thinking that Doug is inside the trunk when the open the trunk,springs out of the trunk is a Chinese thug called Chow and beats the hell out of these guys with a stick and leave them groaning on the ground.Now Alan comes out in open and says that he had drugged everyone thinking that they would have more fun but accidentally he was sold roofies by the dealer.In order to find more clues they go back to the hotel where they find now Mike Tyson who came there looking for his tiger they had stolen previous night.Now he does all shouting and gives few punches to Alan and asks all of them to return his tiger at his house.Now they go back with the tiger and with a lot of troubles they manage to return the tiger where Tyson shows a tape from previous night’s camera about what they had done.They had done all kinds of things they could never imagine at his house.Now after returning the tiger they get bugged down by the Chow again and this time Chow asks for the $80K that they had taken away from him after a mix up with their bags previous night..He also promises that he would release Doug if he gets the money back.Now completely hopeless, they rely on Alan’s intelligence and sharp memory to win $80 in blackjack and give the money to Chow to get their friend back but they get fooled this time as Chow had a different Doug(that sold the roofies to Alan) in his custody.Now Phil decides to call up Doug’s girlfriend and let her know that they have lost Doug but Stu realizes where Doug is.He remembers they had seen the mattress flung from their hotel earlier and he guesses Doug must be locked on the roof.Now they go back to hotel room and find a sunburned Doug holding onto the $80 K and start for home.Thankfully,they get home just in time for the marriage.Phil goes back to his family happily.Stu has a fight with his GF,breaks up with her and arranges a date with Jade.Alan Now they together enjoy the pics that they have in the camera that Alan finds they had with them.

I had a freaking ball watching this flick,out-n-out comedy and there is not a single scene that is not funny in the entire movie.

Characters?????

Phil-Bradley Copper
Stu-Ed Helms
Doug -Justin Bartha
Alan -Zach Galifianakis
Jade-Heather Graham

What I liked about the movie?-The movie, in my opinion, is a great treat to watch ONLY with friends and will not be so good idea to watch with family(its R rated). Its basically a movie like Superbad as it is very much male-oriented. But the movie has got its stuff well-written and well-structured that it kind of flows in sequentially and gives you a lot of rib-tickling laughs to its audeience all through out.The dialogues are well-written and dialogue delivery from all these actors is just awesome.Alan and Stu are much funnier than others and have been supported by others very nicely.

So the moral of the story-you got to be careful while buying drugs, chances are that you might be sold “roofies”.......:-D

Saturday, June 6, 2009

KricketMania-The Match!!


But today we wanted to do something different,we wanted to play somewhere outside our apt complex,a match between ourselves(ofcourse friendly without knowing even if we could manage 11 for each of the teams);a match between northies and southies. I was not aware of which team I was playing for cuz I play with both but it didnt matter.I was playing cricket was all what mattered.On this cold Saturday morning we reached the ground that was booked by our own Prathamesh for $30 for another match that got cancelled because the opponent backed out for some reason.Thanks to P who made it all possible by promptly arranging a match between ourselves and having given wake-up calls to almost everyone before the match.We started for the ground at around 9AM whereas the match was fixed at 10 AM which eventually started at about 10.30 AM.After the toss I came to know I was playing for the southie team.As my legs were in bad shape I thot wicket-keeping shud be my cup of tea as it didnot require a lot of running around .thanks to our stand-in(:-)read regular) captain Praveen who settled for the third man position without really making any noise which sort of surprised me a bit.But he made sure he passed some comments(of course for FUN) that I was not collecting.Even for those that I held onto nicely he would make some funny comment along with Gurupreet(fondly called Guppe) and I would eventually collect it cleanly.I was not able to collect all of course as the ball was very hard and heavyfor my ungloved hands which was hurting even more on this cold morning.So many of us dropped so many.But when it came to taking a wicket caught behind I somehow managed to hold on to it at the last moment and the sole nick that came into my golves of bare hands.Now came the most interesting part of of it...batting....I came at number 3 we lost our captain very early in the innings.But at the crease was our friend Guppe.Once I joined him we decided to start taking singles and doubles wherever possible to keep the run rate ticking for any new one to come in and do the hitting.We struggled for some deliveries as I was not able to connect properly and if I would I would not find a gap,G not getting onto the ball and trying the shots giving all of that types a miss.but after 2-3 overs we were hitting nicely and stopped hearing yelling of people from the dug-out about making more runs.Once they stopped shouting we started asking about the required runs as we went on hitting one or 2 boundaries each over.In the middle we had run so much that we decided not to take any singles,not to convert any singles to doubles and just take it easy for sometime and we were breathing so heavily out there in the middle in that scorching heat(The cold had given way to heat quite unusal here though).Its when we crossed the 60 mark of 92 target we were kinda lil relaxed thought that we were nearing our win doubtlessly.And in no time,we reached the target and we won the match and the winning runs came from my bat in the form of a straight drive biforcating the bowler and the long-off,ball racing away for a boundry This was a slow and patient match and we wanted to play one more which turned out to be a real thriller even though it could not be played fully.Before we could play it to finish rain played its part to spoil it out of nowhere.(wat a day 1st the cold then the heat n nw the rains)You know what? it had to be spoiled for God's sake and thanks to the rains for doing it so nicely.We started the second match as a less-over match (unlike the first one which was a 15 over one) our hard-hitter and dependable batter Pramod opened the innings and opened it in style with sixes raining over the long-on.He was going for the kill for most of the balls like they say luck favors the brave,it really did save him as they dropped him 3-4 times.He was hitting those maximums back to back . One ball even disappeared into the bushes and we could not find it.The hitting was so brutal and merciless that it spoilt the charm of the game and it felt like there was no competition and everyone was kind of in a mood to pack up.And the rains poured .We ran helter skelter for shelter and finally came running to our cars to head to BK for our lunch.This was one of those days that I had great FUN playing the matches in charlotte.Also its bonus that I played good and made some runs that counted a lot for the team.But I strongly feel that I enjoyed every bit of everymoment that we played cricket here be it in the tennis courts or outside with these fellas of parkside. Another imp part is that we do all kind of chit chatting and leg-pulling which kind of makes us feel good and entertained throughout.

And this day I bought my iPhone The iPhone story will be coming up shortly in a few days...

Tennis Supersedes Cricket...???

(This was intended to be posted on 05/16 but it couldn't be..but here it goes now....)

A couple of days ago I was advised by my doc ,not for the first time though, to refrain from any kind of sporting activities since I have aggravated stress fractures and tender and sensitive shin bones.This advice sounded a lot important then but I had already promised to play a cricket match today which had been planned for a long time now. I decided (not heeding to the doc's advice) to go ahead and play the game this very last time coz cricket is something that has driven me crazy all the time my entire life.(I am sure many of u feel the same way and can understand what I am talking about) Before I tell you about this match let me tell you about our regular place of practice where we sneak up to and catch up with some cricket every weekend.Here a board hanging on the fence reads clearly "TENNIS supersedes cricket"to keep guys like us out....but this doesn't stop us ...infact it makes playing cricket "here" all the more fun.A question that must be rising in every ones mind is ...Is it just defying this writing on the board which makes us play here on the tennis court ??There are a couple of other important reasons as well :-)They are...firstly,not having a cricket ground around our community , secondly the fences around the court help in fielding the ball when we can't muster enough guys to play but most importantly playing here on the tennis court is more like Gully cricket we play back home in India with restrictions like a hit out of the court costing us our wicket. playing here on the court is no cake walk.We have to be very careful not to mess up with the timings of the Tennis guys and risk being thrown off the court ...This is easier said than done as the court is hardly free...so we try to play after 11 p.m on Friday nights after the tennis guys break sweat and 80%of Charolette is asleep and the second option is to sneak on them b4 they can make it to the courts on Sat early afternoons.These unearthly timings we maintain speaks for the immense passion and enthusiasm we Northies and Southies (the names of our teams)have for Cricket and believe me the list of sacrifices we make to play cricket will surprise you guys.(but I had read somewer wen I was a kid - if u cant beat them join them...so tennis is one of my recent finds I have started enjoying but it can never equal my love for cricket) This a long history of our practice sessions...wait for the next blog to know about the match we played and its effect on my not so good legs.